Album Reviews | Jace Media

Meridian – Margin Of Error

February 8, 2019 // 0 Comments

Meridian – Margin Of Error Mighty Music (March 22nd 2019) Reviewer: Dan Mann from Meridian, the Danish melodic metal band, return with a brand new album ‘Margin Of Error‘, comprising of eleven tracks, four of which I’m more than familiar with as they were on the band’s EP ‘The Fate of Atlantis‘ released last year. Having heard that the four tracks would be on a full album I kind of knew what to expect. Or so I thought….’Margin Of Error‘ just takes everything up several notches, giving us a fully emersive album which I have not stopped playing. Guitarists Martin J. Anderson and Marco Angioni have both been [read on]

At the Sun Leave Before the Light album review.

February 8, 2019 // 0 Comments

  At the Sun Leave Before the Light album review. At the Sun are five London rockers, Harry Dale vocals, Chet Jogia lead guitar, Kieron Heavens rhythm guitar, Alex Mathews bass, and Craig Steen drums. they are just about to unleash their debut album on the world on the 8th of March, twelve songs to delight everyone’s palette, I would describe them as hard and heavy rockers with a taste of the blues.1. Only a Fool. Nice groovy guitar riff with heavy beating drums intro before the impressive vocals of Harry hit you and straightaway, you’re moving to the beat of this number: a nice start to any album. 2. Preacher. A mix of Black Stone [read on]

Flotsam And Jetsam – The End Of Chaos

February 7, 2019 // 0 Comments

Reviewer: Stephen Brophy for In many ways Flotsam and Jetsam are not only one of the heavyweights of the Thrash Metal, a band during 90’s for me far ahead of their time but also one that has so often been underrated in the genre. Something that has perhaps become quite a common thread in reviews I write, but something that could again hold back an album like this is the current need for immediacy in music, and perhaps to a certain extent the older generation that see’s their free time reduced and therefore the ability to sit and properly listen to music is no longer there, this again is an album you need to live with a [read on]

Gathering Of Kings – First Mission

February 7, 2019 // 0 Comments

Gathering Of Kings – First Mission RN Records (January 2019) Reviewer: Dan Mann of Here we have another album I’ve been eagerly awaiting having bought four of the tracks from Amazon last year, so I had a pretty good understanding of what the album was going to be like. ‘First Mission‘ is a smörgåsbord of an album, combining a wealth of talent from other Scandi rock bands eg. Masterplan, Therion, The Night Flight Orchestra, Soilwork, Saffire, Pretty Maids, Spiritual Beggars, Corroded, Streamline etc. The end results are a melodic rock fans wet dream. Imagine someone sitting down to record the ultimate Scandi rock [read on]

The Swamp Born Assassins: Smell The Mud

February 6, 2019 // 0 Comments

The Swamp Born Assassins: Smell The Mud Debuting with the enticing offer to Smell The Mud, The Swamp Born Assassins are a new outfit hailing from the outskirts of Glasgow, Scotland. So what sort of aroma do these self proclaimed killers from the swamp emit? Try a grungey Paw meets early ZZ Top via a sprinkle of Billy Duffy (The Cult) riffing and you won’t be too far away. Suddenly the offer doesn’t sound so bad! If there’s one thing this lot have in abundance, it’s energy and drive (OK, that’s two things…); in fact it’s a long time since I’ve been juggernauted in such spectacular style! When [read on]

Colateral – 4 Shots!EP

February 3, 2019 // 0 Comments

Colateral – 4 Shots!EP Collateral are a melodic hard rock band from Ramsgate, Kent who  burst onto the music scene in 2018 playing festivals and venues as well as the Hard Rock Hell private VIP party, where the reaction was immense. This debut 4-track EP was released by Roulette Records on Friday 23rd November 2018  and was recorded and mixed by Sean Kenny at Ten 21 Studio with mastering provided by Grammy nominee Robin Shmittz of 24-96 in Germany. Collateral are formed of front man Angelo Tristan,  Jack Bentley Smith on bass, Todd Winger on guitar and Ben Atkinson on drums. Getting the EP started is Going With The [read on]

Phanerozoic I Palaeozoic by The Ocean

January 30, 2019 // 0 Comments

  Phanerozoic I Palaeozoic by The Ocean Best to start this album review by saying that I would be typing out that album title more that once in the review so the new album by The Ocean has been shortened from Phanerozoic I Palaeozoic to PIP. Probably best for everyone’s sanity. The Ocean or The Ocean collective are a sort of post metal, sort of progressive metal group that is definitely a band but better described as a collective. If you take the fluctuation of members, the recording of albums and EPs and stage performances we could list over eighty names. However, that sound remains. It’s a soundscape that punctuates the pictures [read on]

Inglorious ‘Ride To Nowhere

January 23, 2019 // 0 Comments

Inglorious ‘Ride To Nowhere I can’t not mention that over the last few months the fact that this album was due to be released was smothered by the departure of 3 band members all on the same day. Then there was the awful cyber bullying of the frontman and then a bit of a meltdown from him on social media followed by a clearly heartfelt apology. There’s no skirting around it – it took the shine off the new album and the forthcoming tour, pausing the anticipation and the positivity which has been around the band since 2014. The two previous albums have been winners, gaining the band fans and respect along the way. the bands identity [read on]


January 16, 2019 // 0 Comments

FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY WAKE UP THE COMA NEW ALBUM BY CANADIAN DUO OUT 08.02.19 [METROPOLIS] includes the single EYE ON YOU (feat Robert Görl) iTunes/Apple Music Spotify Front Line Assembly will release their first new album in almost six years in early 2019. Having rejoined the group in 2016 in a touring capacity, ‘Wake Up The Coma’ also marks the studio return to FLA of Rhys Fulber, thus reuniting him with founder member Bill Leeb in the duo line-up that has already made so many classic electronic records together. Musically, ‘Wake Up The Coma’ sees FLA continue to push the envelope of the [read on]

Starbreaker / Dysphoria

January 16, 2019 // 0 Comments

 Starbreaker / Dysphoria Former TNT Frontman” Tony Harnell” has decided to get together once again with Primal Fear guitarist “Magnus Karlsson” for album number three under the Starbreaker banner, with 2nd album 2008,s “Loves Dying Wish” being a particular highlight of mine from all of Harnells work that he has put his name to over the years. Following on from Harnells departure from TNT in 2017 one of rocks finest vocalists is now back doing what he does best, keeping his legions of fans contented with some fresh material. Opening track “Pure Evil” comes blasting out the speakers like its title suggests, with double kick [read on]