X-Drive “Get Your Rock On” Album Review

X-Drive deliver a classic hard rock n roll gem with “Get Your Rock On” (2014)
The debut CD, ‘Get Your Rock On’ is a stellar collection of 12 tracks that will have your head and heart reeling and your finger reaching for the replay button. Virtually unknown guitarist Jeremy Brunner is the founder of the band, and the Oregon transplant makes an impressive showing with an affinity for catchy riffs, insightful lyrics and huge choruses. Some of the best in Los Angeles have joined him including bassist James Lomenzo (Black Label Society, Megadeth, White Lion), singer Keith St. John (Montrose, Burning Rain) and to round out the project, hard-hitting drummer Fred Fischer (Midline). Legendary producer Andy Johns, the former Led Zeppelin engineer, finished the XDrive tracks just before his tragic and untimely death in 2013. ‘Get Your Rock On’ was mixed by Wyn Davis (Black Sabbath, Dio, Whitesnake, Dokken).
X-Drive’s music is full on groove. melodies and harmonies. Stand out tracks like the hard rocking ’Love’s A Bitch’, the boisterous ‘Turn the Noize Down’, or the simply infectious ‘Lay Me Down’ have a it all. ’Rattlesnake Eyes’ has more than just a bit of a young David Coverdale feel to it. ’California’ the first single and possibly most radio friendly song on the album is catchy as hell. The ballad ‘Baby Bye Bye’ & ‘Beyond the Angels’ finds St. John and Brunner wishing this was 1988 ….the arena would be packed and the lighters would be in the air.
This band had it all talent, the presence, and the songs to be huge. Had this been released 25 years ago there’s no doubt this one would be considered a classic.

Track List:
1. Love’s A Bitch
2. Get Your Rock On
3. Steppin’ On The Rock
4. Baby Bye Bye
5. California
6. Lay Me Down
7. Turn The Noize Down
8. Beyond the Angels
9. Rattlesnake Eyes
10. Just Can’t Stay
11. Change of Heart
12. Love Breaks the Fool

Read on:

About therealsteavis (253573 Articles)
Committed to the Three Rs - Rugby league, Rock & roll and the Road

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: